Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden

I have had these photos lined up for months. In fact, my first trip to the Dallas Arboretum was nearly a year ago when the pumpkins were rampant and my photo adventuring buddy still lived here. In order to make this post multi-seasonal, I went back in early June for a different look. Things are always changing and ever beautiful.

DallasArboretum_6981

There’s no best time to go to the Arboretum. I suppose it depends upon your preference for what is in bloom and the temperature that day. Wear comfortable shoes because you will be doing a lot of walking. The other piece of advice is to save some money and pay for a parking pass online in advance. It runs about $8, whereas at the admissions gate, parking is $15. There are other ticket specials from time to time, so it doesn’t hurt to take a look beforehand.

Pumpkins line almost all the walkways during the Autumn. All shapes, sizes, and colors.
Pumpkins line almost all the walkways during the Autumn. All shapes, sizes, and colors.
A Woman's Garden Pool.
A Woman’s Garden Pool.

One of the many things I enjoy about the Arboretum are the benches. They are all over the place, so you can sit for awhile and enjoy the surroundings. Or draw. Or write. I saw people doing all three during my visits. And there are people like me with a camera in tow.

Set up for Autumn in Pecan Grove.
Set up for Autumn in Pecan Grove.
Pecan Grove in the Summer.
And…Pecan Grove in the Summer.
DallasArboretum_6944
Just outside Pecan Grove in the Summer.
DallasArboretum_6020
Big pumpkins, little pumpkins, cute pumpkins, ugly pumpkins.
If you walk through Crape Myrtle Allee, you will find lots of squirrels. They are so used to humans that they don't scamper off immediately.
If you walk through Crape Myrtle Allee, you will find lots of squirrels. They are so used to humans that they don’t scamper off immediately.
DallasArboretum_6963
Crape Myrtle Allee. Amazing in full bloom, and just as nice when they don’t have any leaves.

I am a rose gal. I had them at my wedding, I grow some in my garden at home, and one of my favorite perfumes to wear is Red Roses by Jo Malone. The Rose Garden is, without a doubt, my favorite spot at the Arboretum. It’s fragrant and colorful. Climbing roses, hybrid roses, rose bushes. Love!

Rose Mary Haggar Rose Garden
Rose Mary Haggar Rose Garden
Always look up.
Always look up.

The Arboretum is for all ages and is easy to walk through. Some areas are busier than others, but you can always find a spot for solitude if you so choose. I’ve never eaten in any of the restaurants, but I’ve heard they are good. I saw online that they have afternoon tea in the DeGolyer House, so I need to make reservations sometime to check it out.

Admission for people over the age of 13 will run you $15. The Children’s Adventure Garden, which isn’t just for kids, will add a few more dollars.

The Dallas Arboretum is at 8525 Garland Rd, Dallas, TX 75218

DallasArboretum_7001

Leave a Reply

