Nasher Sculpture Center

This is one of those adventures that happened awhile ago and got stockpiled.

I follow an account on Instagram called InstaDFW.  It showcases various photographers in the metroplex.  They organized a meetup (aka Instameet) at the Nasher Sculpture Center.  Peter and I took our cameras and our phones and went to check things out.  I will admit to having a bit of trepidation about the whole thing, as sometimes meetups can be rather cliquey. Admission to the Nasher is $10 for adults.  Because of the Instameet, we were allowed inside for free, and signed some photography paperwork.  While doing so, I got admonished for sitting down on an item I wasn’t supposed to sit on. (It was just a white bench-looking thing that obviously was not a bench.)  Can’t take me anywhere!  We were then released to explore the Sculpture Center and snap away.  As always, click on the photos to enlarge.

I loved this geometric piece, as well as the building's clean lines.
I loved this geometric marble piece by Tony Smith, as well as the building’s clean lines.

What makes the Nasher interesting is that there are things to see both indoors and out.  We were lucky because the weather was blue skies and sunny.  I recommend you go on a good weather day, because the outside garden is really nice.  I really enjoyed walking around it.

The Instameet was interesting as several people broke off into groups since they knew each other. A few others were by themselves or coupled up.  No one was unfriendly, but there wasn’t a whole lot of group mingling either.  Peter and I did talk to some people, so that was pretty cool.

NasherSculptureCenter_6156As with any museum-type place, items come and go.  Some of the things you see pictured may have since moved on to other exhibitions.  The spinning tops, pictured above, seemed to be a theme while we were there as there were all sizes of them throughout.

Sunshine.
Sunshine.
NasherSculptureCenter_6171
Picasso’s Head of a Woman
Pretty sure these were some fellow Instameeters outside playing around in the Spun Chairs.
Pretty sure these were some fellow Instameeters outside playing around in the Spun Chairs.

I spent most of my time out in the gardens because it was such a beautiful day.  The only complaint I had was that many of the sculptures had ropes around them to keep people from getting too close, which was a bit unsightly.  I heard that that isn’t always the case though, so maybe if you go on a week day, there aren’t any ropes.

Some of Thomas Heatherwick's Spun Chairs, suprisingly unoccupied when I snapped this!
Some of Thomas Heatherwick’s Spun Chairs, surprisingly unoccupied when I snapped this!
These were quite fun to twirl around in.  They also had them for sale in the shop, fully customizable too.
These were quite fun to twirl around in. They also had them for sale in the shop, fully customizable too.
NasherSculptureCenter_6215
Eviva Amore (steel) by Mark di Suvero.
Adam Silverman's Boolean Valley.
Adam Silverman’s Boolean Valley.

One of the points of the Instameet was for people to post their photos on Instagram using the hashtag #meetatnasher  I shared some of my photos, but ultimately realized that even though I had tagged them, no one was seeing them because my Instagram account isn’t public.  Bit of a bummer.

The Nasher was lovely and I want to go back on a week day to have a wander and see what has come and gone.  You can find it at in the downtown arts district at 2001 Flora Street, Dallas, Texas 75201.  Right next to the Dallas Museum of Art.

2 thoughts on “Nasher Sculpture Center”

Leave a Reply

