Old Red Museum

I have a stockpile of places I have adventured to in recent weeks, so I need to get blogging!

Peter and I had wanted to check out the Old Red Museum for awhile after a brief stop in on a previous adventure.  Unfortunately on the day we went, two of the floors were closed for renovation.  We explored what was available to us on Dallas County history and culture.

Old Red Museum
Old Red Museum

To be honest, this museum wasn’t a big hit for me.  There are some interesting tidbits about Dallas and lots of trinkets and historical items on display, but I wasn’t blown away by anything.  We kept waiting for it to get better.  I don’t want to dwell on the negative, so I do have some photos to share. (As usual, you can click on them to see a larger version)

The staircase inside Old Red is my favorite feature of the place.
The staircase inside Old Red is my favorite feature of the place.
Pegasus.
Pegasus.
This was pretty cool.  The World's First Frozen Margarita Machine.
This was pretty cool. The World’s First Frozen Margarita Machine.
Looking down the dimly light hallway on the 2nd floor.
Looking down the dimly light hallway on the 2nd floor.
I have to imagine that learning to ride these things had a steep learning curve!
I have to imagine that learning to ride these things had a steep learning curve!
Another look at the staircase.
Another look at the staircase.

The ticket price is an affordable $8.  If it had cost more, I’d have been irritated since half of it was closed.  If you have limited time in Dallas, then I would say give the Old Red a miss as there are a lot more interesting places to see.

Because it was a part of our journey, I’m also including a few photos we took in the Dallas Design District.  On our way to Old Red, a certain rabbit caught our eye so we pulled over to check it out.

DallasDesignDistrict_5247

We also discovered that the parking lot had a lot of messages painted on the ground:

DallasDesignDistrict_5249It took me a moment to figure out the right way to read them!  They all started with the “As long as…”.   I wish I had taken photos of some of the others!

DallasDesignDistrict_5248It was random and fascinating, and there were no signs posted to offer any explanation so I am unable to provide any details here.  If you know anything about them, leave me a comment as I am curious!

 

Leave a Reply

