Afternoon Tea, Anyone?

Last week, I had an afternoon to myself so I decided to check out Into My Garden tea room in Downtown Plano.

I spent my elementary school years in England, so I was brought up drinking hot tea and eating scones.   I have a nostalgic fondness for afternoon tea services.  The elegance, the conversations, the small sandwiches, mini desserts.  Yum!

For Into My Garden, reservations are a MUST.  I actually emailed the day before I went in and received a prompt response.  All I had to do was look at their online menu and select the type of service I wanted and they would have it ready for me.  You can call to make a reservation too: (469) 360-5821  I selected the “Afternoon Tea in the Garden” service which includes two sandwiches, two tea breads, an English scone, and a variety of small pastries.  The required strawberry jam and Devonshire cream accompanied the service as well.

This table greets you as you walk in.
This table greets you as you walk in.

Into My Garden in the back of a large (and currently empty) store space in Downtown Plano.  It used to be connected to Nooks N’Krannies, which was a gift shop that has since closed.  At first, I wasn’t sure if I was in the right spot, but I walked to the back and spotted the tea room tucked away in the back.

The entrance to Into My Garden tea room.
The entrance to Into My Garden tea room.

There’s no hostess stand to speak of, so I walked toward the back and found the staff busily working.  I was shown to my table, given a huge goblet of ice water, and presented with a large box containing Stash teas to choose from.

Huge selection of Stash teas to choose from.
Huge selection of Stash teas to choose from.

I went with a classic.  Earl Grey.  I find people either love it or hate it.  Once I chose my tea, I was able to take in my surroundings.  I loved the small space and the vintage feel.  The table cloths were all different, many of which were quilts and blankets.  They also have lots of tea pots, dessert stands, and hats dotted around.

Hello, teapots!
Hello, teapots!
Cup and saucer table setting.
Cup and saucer table setting.

And then came my plate of goodies.  I was not disappointed.  Everything was fresh and delicious.  I particularly liked the chicken salad sandwich.

Yum!
Yum!

I enjoyed every bite, though it was a bit like having dessert for lunch with all the sweet things.  So good!  Don’t worry, the strawberry jam and Devonshire cream got a lot of use as I slathered them on the tea cakes and scone.

IntoMyGarden7

Even though I was by myself, I really enjoyed the experience, and can recommend it.

Into My Garden is open for afternoon tea, by reservation, on Tuesday- Saturday, 11am-2:30pm.  They do have a lunch menu with salads and sandwiches if afternoon tea isn’t your thing.

 

Leave a Reply

