Five Sixty and Happy Birthday to Me!!

It was my birthday last week.

I decided a few weeks prior that I wanted to go to dinner with friends at Five Sixty, the restaurant by Wolfgang Puck that is inside the ball of Reunion Tower.  AK and I have been before and really enjoyed it.  I called to made a reservation for 6 people.  The restaurant does have a strict business casual dress code, so make sure everyone in your group is aware.

After taking the elevator up 50 odd stories, you are greeted by floor to ceiling windows.  If you have a fear of heights, then this might not be the place for you.  You can actually buy tickets and go up to the observation deck to see the views if you don’t want to eat at the restaurant…hopefully this will be on a future blog post!

AK and I went early to enjoy cocktail happy hour.  I sipped on a “Fragrant Pear” served in a martini glass which was delicious.

Enjoying a "Fragrant Pear" cocktail
Enjoying a “Fragrant Pear” cocktail

Five Sixty is a fantastic place to sit and watch the world go by…literally.  The restaurant rotates slowly over the course of an hour, so the view of downtown Dallas is constantly changing.

The bars running though the photo are the frame of the Reunion Tower ball, so they make for some strategic photo-taking!
The bars running though the photo are the frame of the Reunion Tower ball, so they make for some strategic photo-taking!
FiveSixty5
Fair Park in the distance, and the Omni Hotel.
I did a whole lot of this during our evening!  (Taken by my bff.)
I did a whole lot of this during our evening! (Taken by my bff.)

Eventually our friends wandered in to join us, and after a round of drinks, we were seated for dinner.  The menu at Five Sixty is a modern Asian theme and there is a lot to choose from.

AK & I ordered the lobster & shrimp spring rolls appetizer.
AK & I ordered the lobster & shrimp spring rolls appetizer.

Interspersed with conversation, there was a lot of photo-taking.  I am glad I wasn’t the only one doing it either.

FiveSixty6

Then the food came and everyone happily tucked in.

I ordered the salmon & bok choi.
I ordered the salmon & bok choi.
FiveSixty7
Blondie’s fried quail.  Peter’s food in the background, which I can’t remember what it was!
FiveSixty8
AK & my bff both ordered the curried prawns.
The girls.  This also gives a good look at the layout of the restaurant.
The girls – G, me, and Blondie. This also gives a good look at the layout of the restaurant.

I thoroughly enjoyed the evening, as any time I can combine good food, drinks, friends, and photography, I am a happy girl!

As it gets dark outside, it is a bit tricky to get photos of the view without some glare unless you get right up to the windows.
As it gets dark outside, it is a bit tricky to get photos of the view without some glare unless you get right up to the windows.

 

One thought on “Five Sixty and Happy Birthday to Me!!”

Leave a Reply

